Data Center Tracking Index
Every data center campus of 100 MW or more in the US and Canada, live since 2021 or in the pipeline, with our estimate of what it pulls from the power grid and the natural gas system, and what that adds to large energy users’ bills.
Preview data. This first edition covers 84 campuses, mostly gigawatt-scale projects plus large sites that came online since 2021, compiled from public trackers and press reports in October 2026. Every row shows a confidence grade. We are checking each campus against company releases, utility filings and air permits, and adding the 100 MW to 1 GW tier region by region, starting with PJM.
Where data center load is landing
Shading shows the data center load we expect to be running in each state or province by 2030. Select one to see its campuses.
GW expected by 2030 None tracked Under 0.5 0.5 to 1.5 1.5 to 5 Over 5 Top row: Canadian provinces
Every campus, rated 1 to 4 bolts
Each campus is rated for its expected 2030 strain on the power grid or the natural gas system, whichever is higher. How the impact rating works
Operating or under construction Announced or proposedGrid, Gas or Grid + gas shows what drives the rating
All 84 campuses, ranked by impact rating, then expected MW by 2030.
| Campus | Impact | Location | Status | Announced MW | Expected MW 2030 | Power supply | Gas MMcf/d | Grid region | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fermi America Project Matador (HyperGrid)Fermi America | Amarillo (Carson County), TX | Under construction | 11,000 | 2,640 | On-site gas | 435.8 | SPP | C | |
| Creekstone Delta GigasiteCreekstone Energy | Delta, UT | Under construction | 10,000 | 2,400 | Not disclosed | 156.4 | West: Mountain/Northwest | C | |
| PORTS Technology CampusSB Energy / SoftBank (New Day Data Centers) | Piketon, OH | Under construction | 10,000 | 2,400 | Not disclosed | 187.6 | PJM | C | |
| TECfusions Keystone ConnectTECfusions | Upper Burrell, PAPittsburgh gas outlook: High | Operating, expanding | 3,000 | 1,620 | Not disclosed | 126.7 | PJM | D | |
| GW Ranch (Pecos County)Tenant per dcmap: Amazon | Fort Stockton, TX | Under construction | 7,650 | 1,469 | On-site gas | 242.4 | ERCOT | C | |
| Amazon Northeast Creek Technology CampusAmazon | Louisa County, VA | Under construction | 2,700 | 1,296 | Grid | 101.3 | PJM | C | |
| Google Project TemboGoogle | Cheyenne, WY | Under construction | 2,700 | 1,296 | Not disclosed | 84.4 | West: Mountain/Northwest | C | |
| Meta HyperionMeta | Richland Parish (Holly Ridge), LA | Under construction | 5,000 | 1,200 | Grid, dedicated gas plant | 156.4 | MISO | B | |
| Amazon Project RainierAmazon (for Anthropic) | New Carlisle, IN | Operating, expanding | 2,200 | 1,188 | Grid | 92.9 | PJM | C | |
| AWS Northern Indiana (Hobart)Amazon | Hobart, IN | Under construction | 2,400 | 1,152 | Grid | 90.1 | MISO | C | |
| Aligned Shippingport (Bruce Mansfield)Aligned Data Centers | Shippingport, PAPittsburgh gas outlook: High | Under construction | 2,000 | 960 | Not disclosed | 75.1 | PJM | C | |
| IREN SweetwaterIREN | Sweetwater, TX | Under construction | 2,000 | 960 | Grid | 68.8 | ERCOT | C | |
| Nscale Monarch Compute CampusNscale | Point Pleasant, WV | Under construction | 2,000 | 960 | Not disclosed | 75.1 | PJM | C | |
| Stargate Project JupiterSTACK Infrastructure / BorderPlex Digital Assets | Santa Teresa (Doña Ana County), NM | Under construction | 2,450 | 941 | On-site fuel cells (gas) | 114.4 | West: Desert Southwest | C | |
| xAI Colossus 1 + 2xAI | Memphis / Southaven, TN / MS | Operating, expanding | 1,000 | 900 | Grid + on-site gas | 148.6 | Southeast utilities | B | |
| Riot Platforms CorsicanaRiot Platforms | Corsicana, TX | Operating, expanding | 1,000 | 900 | Grid | 64.5 | ERCOT | C | |
| Homer City Energy CampusHomer City Redevelopment | Homer City, PA | Under construction | 4,500 | 864 | On-site gas | 142.6 | PJM | B | |
| PowerHouse Grand Prairie CampusPowerHouse Data Centers | Grand Prairie, TX | Under construction | 1,800 | 864 | Not disclosed | 61.9 | ERCOT | C | |
| Meta LebanonMeta | Lebanon, IN | Under construction | 1,000 | 800 | Not disclosed | 62.5 | MISO | C | |
| Joule Energy & Data Center CampusJoule Capital Partners | Holden (Millard County), UT | Under construction | 4,000 | 768 | On-site gas | 126.8 | West: Mountain/Northwest | C | |
| Meta PrometheusMeta | New Albany, OH | Operating, expanding | 1,000 | 900 | Grid + on-site gas | 82.9 | PJM | B | |
| Meta El PasoMeta | El Paso, TX | Under construction | 1,000 | 800 | Grid + on-site gas | 82.9 | West: Desert Southwest | C | |
| Microsoft Fairwater 1Microsoft | Mount Pleasant, WIMilwaukee gas outlook: Watch | Operating, expanding | 1,480 | 799 | Grid | 62.5 | MISO | B | |
| Galaxy Helios CampusGalaxy Digital | Afton (Dickens County), TX | Under construction | 1,630 | 782 | Grid | 56.1 | ERCOT | B | |
| IREN ChildressIREN | Childress, TX | Operating | 750 | 750 | Grid | 53.8 | ERCOT | C | |
| AWS Project GalaxyAmazon | Sidney, OH | Under construction | 1,500 | 720 | Grid | 56.3 | PJM | C | |
| Stargate LordstownOpenAI / SoftBank / Oracle | Lordstown, OH | Under construction | 1,500 | 720 | Not disclosed | 56.3 | PJM | C | |
| Core Scientific Pecos AI CampusCore Scientific | Pecos, TX | Under construction | 1,500 | 720 | Not disclosed | 51.6 | ERCOT | C | |
| Atlas Power WillistonAtlas Power | Williston, ND | Operating | 700 | 700 | Grid | 45.6 | SPP | C | |
| Riot Platforms RockdaleRiot Platforms | Rockdale, TX | Operating | 700 | 700 | Grid | 50.2 | ERCOT | C | |
| Vantage Frontier (Stargate)Vantage Data Centers | Shackelford County, TX | Under construction | 1,400 | 672 | Grid + on-site gas | 73.3 | ERCOT | C | |
| Stargate Michigan 'The Barn'Related Digital (OpenAI / Oracle) | Saline Township, MI | Under construction | 1,400 | 672 | Grid | 52.5 | MISO | C | |
| Google Project ZodiacGoogle | Fort Wayne, IN | Operating, expanding | 1,200 | 648 | Grid | 50.7 | PJM | B | |
| Stargate AbileneCrusoe / Oracle / OpenAI | Abilene, TX | Operating, expanding | 1,200 | 648 | Grid + on-site gas | 61.0 | ERCOT | B | |
| Stargate Milam County (Project Freebird)SB Energy | Burlington (Milam County), TX | Under construction | 1,200 | 576 | Not disclosed | 41.3 | ERCOT | C | |
| Microsoft Fairwater AtlantaMicrosoft | Fayetteville, GA | Operating, expanding | 636 | 572 | Grid | 55.9 | Southeast utilities | C | |
| Bitdeer TexasBitdeer | Rockdale, TX | Operating | 563 | 563 | Grid | 40.4 | ERCOT | C | |
| STACK NVA02STACK Infrastructure | Bristow, VA | Operating | 420 | 504 | Grid | 39.4 | PJM | C | |
| Tract Hanover Technology ParkTract | Ashland, VA | Announced | 2,400 | 504 | Not disclosed | 39.4 | PJM | C | |
| Tesla Cortex 2 (Giga Texas)Tesla | Austin, TX | Operating, expanding | 500 | 450 | Grid | 32.3 | ERCOT | C | |
| TA Realty Leesburg campusTA Realty | Leesburg, VA | Operating | 450 | 450 | Grid | 35.2 | PJM | C | |
| Core Scientific Muskogee 2Core Scientific | Muskogee, OK | Operating | 440 | 440 | Grid | 28.7 | SPP | C | |
| Caldwell County campuses (PowerHouse / Tract)PowerHouse; Tract | Uhland, TX | Announced | 4,000 | 420 | Not disclosed | 30.1 | ERCOT | D | |
| Microsoft Pecos Campus (Project Kilby)Microsoft | Pecos, TX | Announced | 2,000 | 420 | Not disclosed | 30.1 | ERCOT | C | |
| Digital Realty Astra Enterprise ParkDigital Realty | De Soto, KS | Announced | 2,000 | 420 | Not disclosed | 27.4 | SPP | C | |
| Tract TRIC Master-Planned ParkTract | Sparks (Storey County), NV | Announced | 2,000 | 420 | Not disclosed | 27.4 | West: Mountain/Northwest | C | |
| Poolside Project HorizonPoolside AI | Fort Stockton, TX | Announced | 2,000 | 420 | Not disclosed | 30.1 | ERCOT | D | |
| Stratos AI Data Center CampusO'Leary Digital | Lucin, UT | Proposed | 9,000 | 405 | Not disclosed | 26.4 | West: Mountain/Northwest | D | |
| Data Journey The BunkerData Journey | Montgomery, TXHouston gas outlook: Elevated | Operating | 400 | 400 | Grid | 28.7 | ERCOT | D | |
| Wonder ValleyO'Leary Ventures | Greenview (MD), AB | Proposed | 7,500 | 338 | On-site gas | 55.7 | Alberta (AESO) | C | |
| Core Scientific DentonCore Scientific | Denton, TX | Operating | 394 | 394 | Grid | 28.2 | ERCOT | C | |
| Project BunkhouseTaurus / Digital Realty | Stilesboro, GA | Announced | 1,830 | 384 | Not disclosed | 37.6 | Southeast utilities | C | |
| Tract Buckeye Tech CorridorTract | Buckeye, AZ | Announced | 1,800 | 378 | Not disclosed | 29.6 | West: Desert Southwest | C | |
| Joliet Technology CenterHillwood / PowerHouse | Joliet, IL | Announced | 1,800 | 378 | Not disclosed | 29.6 | PJM | C | |
| Project CardinalPioneer Development | Yorkville, IL | Announced | 1,800 | 378 | Not disclosed | 29.6 | PJM | C | |
| Paducah GDP AI CampusBrookfield / NextEra | Kevil, KY | Announced | 1,800 | 378 | Not disclosed | 36.9 | Southeast utilities | C | |
| Galaxy Project Merlin (Helios II)Galaxy Digital | McGregor, TX | Announced | 3,500 | 368 | Not disclosed | 26.3 | ERCOT | D | |
| Stark Hallam HyperscaleStark Power | Hallam, NE | Announced | 1,700 | 357 | Not disclosed | 23.3 | SPP | D | |
| Meta Sturgeon CountyMeta | Sturgeon County, AB | Announced | 1,000 | 350 | Not disclosed | 41.0 | Alberta (AESO) | C | |
| Hyperscale Data MichiganHyperscale Data, Inc. | Dowagiac, MI | Operating | 340 | 340 | Grid | 26.6 | PJM | D | |
| OpenAI Project CamelliaOpenAI | Effingham County, GA | Announced | 3,210 | 337 | Not disclosed | 32.9 | Southeast utilities | C | |
| Tract Silver Springs ParkTract | Silver Springs, NV | Announced | 1,600 | 336 | Not disclosed | 21.9 | West: Mountain/Northwest | C | |
| IREN SE Oklahoma CampusIREN | Clayton, OK | Announced | 1,600 | 336 | Not disclosed | 21.9 | SPP | C | |
| IREN Woods County CampusIREN | Alva, OK | Announced | 1,600 | 336 | Not disclosed | 21.9 | SPP | C | |
| Wildcat Ridge AI CampusCornell Realty Management | Archbald, PAUGI Gas territory outlook: Elevated | Announced | 1,600 | 336 | Not disclosed | 26.3 | PJM | C | |
| Compass Red Oak DFW IIICompass Datacenters | Red Oak, TX | Operating, expanding | 360 | 324 | Grid | 23.2 | ERCOT | C | |
| New Era Lea County Data CenterNew Era Energy & Digital | Lovington, NM | Proposed | 7,000 | 315 | Not disclosed | 20.5 | SPP | D | |
| Cloverleaf Project Open SkyCloverleaf Infrastructure | Piedmont, OK | Announced | 1,500 | 315 | Not disclosed | 20.5 | SPP | C | |
| Crusoe Victoria AI FactoryCrusoe | Victoria, TX | Announced | 1,500 | 315 | Not disclosed | 22.6 | ERCOT | C | |
| AWS Wilderness CrossingAmazon | Montford (Orange County), VA | Announced | 1,500 | 315 | Not disclosed | 24.6 | PJM | C | |
| Stak Energy North SlopeStak Energy | North Slope, AK | Proposed | 3,000 | 270 | Not disclosed | 31.7 | Alaska | D | |
| Nebius IndependenceNebius | Independence, MO | Announced | 1,200 | 252 | Not disclosed | 16.4 | SPP | C | |
| CloudBurst San Marcos Data Center ICloudBurst | San Marcos, TX | Announced | 1,200 | 252 | Not disclosed | 18.1 | ERCOT | C | |
| Data City TexasEnergy Abundance Development Corp. | Laredo, TX | Proposed | 5,000 | 225 | Not disclosed | 16.1 | ERCOT | D | |
| Sailfish Comanche CircleSailfish Digital Ventures | Tolar, TX | Proposed | 5,000 | 225 | Not disclosed | 16.1 | ERCOT | D | |
| Roswell Information ParkRoswell Information Park LLC | Roswell, NM | Proposed | 4,960 | 223 | Not disclosed | 14.5 | SPP | D | |
| Amp Energy East TexasAmp Z | Lufkin, TX | Proposed | 2,100 | 189 | Not disclosed | 13.5 | ERCOT | D | |
| Eneus Energy HarlingenEneus Energy | Harlingen, TX | Proposed | 2,000 | 180 | Not disclosed | 12.9 | ERCOT | D | |
| Rubix Project AshlandRubix Data Centers | Russell, KY | Proposed | 2,000 | 180 | Not disclosed | 14.1 | PJM | D | |
| Fundamental Data RidgelineFundamental Data | Hambleton, WV | Proposed | 2,000 | 180 | Not disclosed | 14.1 | PJM | D | |
| Adams Fork Data Center Energy CampusTransGas Development Systems | Wharncliffe, WV | Proposed | 2,400 | 173 | On-site gas | 28.5 | PJM | D | |
| Google / Tenaska SE NebraskaGoogle | Southeast Nebraska, NE | Proposed | 1,000 | 150 | Not disclosed | 9.8 | SPP | D | |
| TransAlta Keephills data centreTransAlta | Keephills (Parkland County), AB | Approved | 230 | 150 | Grid | 17.5 | Alberta (AESO) | B | |
| Hassayampa Ranch Data CenterArizona Land Consulting | Tonopah, AZ | Proposed | 1,500 | 135 | Not disclosed | 10.6 | West: Desert Southwest | D |
Expected MW weights each campus by build stage and how much can be energized by 2030. Gas is the average daily burn at plants serving the campus and on site. Confidence: A verified against a primary source, B several consistent sources, C one secondary source, D conflicting or estimated figures.
Which grids are absorbing it
Bill effects follow the grid region and utility a campus connects to, not the city it sits in. Campuses that build their own gas plants skip the grid and draw on local pipelines instead.
Grid-served load: shows up in electric ratesOn-site power: shows up in local gas demand
| Rank | Region | Top-rated campuses | Expected MW by 2030 | Share of system peak | Gas MMcf/d | Data center cost to you | Tariff shield |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | PJM22 campuses · 48.3 GW announced | 7 four-bolt 7 three-bolt | 10.0% | 1,355 | $7.35/MWh$45,078 per MW-yr | Partial | |
| 2 | ERCOT26 campuses · 51.3 GW announced | 4 four-bolt 13 three-bolt | Later pass | 1,193 | Calibrating | Under review | |
| 3 | SPP12 campuses · 34.7 GW announced | 1 four-bolt 3 three-bolt | Later pass | 686 | Calibrating | Under review | |
| 4 | West: Mountain/Northwest6 campuses · 29.3 GW announced | 3 four-bolt 2 three-bolt | Later pass | 443 | Calibrating | Under review | |
| 5 | MISO5 campuses · 11.3 GW announced | 3 four-bolt 2 three-bolt | Later pass | 424 | Calibrating | Under review | |
| 6 | Southeast utilities5 campuses · 8.5 GW announced | 1 four-bolt 1 three-bolt | Later pass | 312 | Calibrating | Partial | |
| 7 | West: Desert Southwest4 campuses · 6.8 GW announced | 1 four-bolt 1 three-bolt | Later pass | 237 | Calibrating | Under review | |
| 8 | Alberta (AESO)3 campuses · 8.7 GW announced | 0 four-bolt 1 three-bolt | 6.5% | 114 | Calibrating | Partial | |
| 9 | Alaska1 campus · 3.0 GW announced | 0 four-bolt 0 three-bolt | Later pass | 32 | Calibrating | Under review |
Not yet covered: New York (NYISO), New England (ISO-NE), California (CAISO), Ontario (IESO) and Québec. Share of peak and cost figures are added as each region is calibrated. Tariff shield: how far large-load tariff terms keep data center costs off other customers’ bills.
Capacity prices are at the cap, and data centers drive 38% of the bill
The 2028/29 capacity auction cleared at $325 per MW-day. PJM’s independent market monitor attributes $6.3 billion, 38% of that auction’s cost, to data center load. For a large user that is about $45,000 per MW of capacity tag each year.
Four tracked campuses sit in metros we rate for gas capacity
Pittsburgh (High), Houston and the UGI Gas territory around Scranton (Elevated), and Milwaukee (Watch). Campuses with their own plants, common in SPP and the Desert Southwest, pull straight from local pipelines.
What the build-out adds to your electric bill
Pick your grid region and enter your load. In PJM we can price the data center share of your capacity cost today; other regions follow as we calibrate them.
PJM, 2028/29 delivery year
$90,155
a year of your capacity cost is driven by data centers
Data centers: 38%Total capacity cost: $237,250 a year
Assumes capacity passes through at the auction price; fixed-price supply contracts may defer it to renewal. Sources: PJM 2028/29 Base Residual Auction; data center share from PJM’s independent market monitor.
We are calibrating this region.
PJM capacity price by delivery year ($ per MW-day)
How we estimate impact
Each campus is weighted by build stage
A 9 GW proposal is not counted as 9 GW. We weight every campus by how far along it is and how much can be energized by 2030.
MethodologyCosts land on the market a campus connects to
Where large-load tariffs make data centers pay their own way, less of the cost reaches other customers.
Electric bill effectsOwn turbines skip the grid, not the pipeline
We convert each campus’s load to daily gas burn and compare it with our metro gas capacity ratings.
Impact ratingQuestions about the index
What is the Data Center Tracking Index?
A Discovery Energy dataset of every data center campus of 100 MW or more in the US and Canada that entered service since 2021 or is under construction, approved, announced or proposed. For each campus it estimates electricity and natural gas demand by 2030 and gives a 1 to 4 bolt impact rating. This preview edition covers 84 campuses.
Why is expected load so much lower than announced capacity?
Announced figures often describe a full buildout over many years, and many projects slip or are cancelled. PJM, for example, accepted about 34 GW of the roughly 60 GW of 2030 data center load that utilities submitted for its 2026 forecast. We weight each campus by its build stage and by how much can realistically be energized by 2030, which turns 202 GW announced into about 53 GW expected.
How do data centers raise my electric bill?
In PJM the clearest channel is capacity. The 2028/29 capacity auction cleared at its $325 per MW-day cap, and PJM's independent market monitor attributes 38% of that auction's cost to data center load. That is about $45,000 a year per MW of capacity tag. Elsewhere costs reach bills through utility rate cases, transmission charges and energy prices, softened where large-load tariffs make data centers pay their own way.
How do data centers affect natural gas supply?
Much of the new power for data centers comes from gas-fired plants, and some campuses build their own turbines or fuel cells on site. A 1 GW campus running on gas burns roughly 140 million cubic feet a day. When that draw lands on pipelines that already run close to their limit on the coldest day, large gas users can see tighter capacity and higher transport costs. Our metro gas capacity ratings show where that margin is thin.
What does the bolt rating mean?
One bolt is a local effect and four bolts reshapes a region. Each campus gets a grid score from the load it will draw from the grid by 2030 and a gas score from the gas it will draw on a peak day; the rating is the higher of the two. Solid bolts mean operating or under construction, outlined bolts mean announced or proposed.
How current and verified is the data?
This is a preview compiled in October 2026 from public project trackers and press reports. Every campus carries a confidence grade from A to D. We are checking each one against company releases, utility filings and air permits, and adding campuses between 100 MW and 1 GW region by region, starting with PJM. The index is refreshed monthly.
Can I download the data?
Yes. The full dataset, including sources, confidence grades and every estimate, is available as a CSV file from this page.
Find out what your bills should have cost.
Send one recent bill per site, or a list of accounts. We tell you where we expect findings before you sign anything. No upfront audit fee.