California natural gas case study, Southern California. October 2026

Southern California natural gas capacity: the utility and state staff both rely on Aliso Canyon storage on the coldest day, and the utility projects a shortfall under its own assumptions

SoCalGas said in November 2025 that it forecasts a 1-in-10 year cold day demand of 4,563 MMcf/d and can withdraw 2,271 MMcf/d from storage at its November 1 inventory, against 2,922 MMcf/d of flowing pipeline supply, and that it expects to meet both design standards; in January 2026 testimony it projected a supply shortfall of 172 MMcf/d on that day at the authorized Aliso Canyon inventory under its own assumptions, while the California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC) Energy Division staff said in October 2025 that the day cannot be met without 550 MMcf/d from Aliso Canyon.

4,563 MMcf/dSoCalGas's 1-in-10 year cold day demand forecast, winter 2025-26, SoCalGas and SDG&E system, per SoCalGas
2,271 MMcf/dStorage withdrawal capacity at the November 1 inventory, four SoCalGas storage fields combined, per SoCalGas, November 2025
2,922 MMcf/dFlowing pipeline supply at 80% utilization of 3,635 MMcf/d receipt capacity, per SoCalGas, November 2025
172 MMcf/dPeak day supply shortfall at the authorized Aliso Canyon inventory, per SoCalGas testimony, January 2026

Key takeaways

  • SoCalGas said in its November 2025 winter assessment that it forecasts a 1-in-10 year cold day demand of 4,563 MMcf/d for its system, that its four storage fields can withdraw 2,271 MMcf/d at the November 1 inventory, and that it expects sufficient pipeline receipt capacity and storage levels to meet both design standards.1
  • CPUC Energy Division staff said in October 2025 that the 1-in-10 peak day forecast for winter 2025-26, 4,562 MMcf/d, exceeds the 4,121 MMcf/d threshold for considering closure of Aliso Canyon by 441 MMcf/d, that its model needs a withdrawal of 550 MMcf/d from Aliso Canyon on that day, and that it recommends cutting the field's maximum inventory by 10 Bcf to 58.6 Bcf; that is a staff recommendation, not a Commission decision.3
  • SoCalGas said in January 2026 testimony that, under its own pipeline and outage assumptions, a 1-in-10 cold day with Aliso Canyon at the authorized 68.6 Bcf leaves a supply shortfall of 172 MMcf/d (333 at 58.6 Bcf), and that the day can be met only with 86.2 Bcf; these are the utility's assumptions and position, which differ from the staff's.4
  • SoCalGas said that in late October 2025 repair conditions on Transmission Lines 225 and 4000 severely restricted the capacity of its Wheeler Ridge and Northern Zones and affected withdrawal from the Honor Rancho storage field.14
  • The most recent receipt capacity SoCalGas states is 3,775 MMcf/d of firm flowing supply, in documents dated November 2025 and April 2026, newer than Figure 20 of the 2026 California Gas Report, which is dated October 2021 and whose five zone figures add to the same total (calculated from the report's figures).125
  • A search of official records found no planned natural gas-fired generator in Los Angeles, Orange or San Diego County in EIA's September 2026 inventory, three 0.3 MW units in San Bernardino County, and no pipeline notice naming the five metro counties. System context: SoCalGas said the Energia Costa Azul LNG terminal in Mexico is approved to export up to 425 MMcf/d.27

Which parts of the record fall inside the three metros?

System context: the capacity record covers the combined SoCalGas and SDG&E transmission and storage system, which serves all five counties, and does not allocate demand, supply or storage to a county or metro. The utilities' own figures are the most local the record has for the base figures (the most-local-figures rule), so each metro section below says what is local and otherwise points to the system-wide figures.5

Where Item in the record
Inside the metros SoCalGas service in Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside and San Bernardino counties; SDG&E service in San Diego County; the City of Long Beach Utilities Department as a municipal gas utility in Los Angeles County
Outside the metros, system context System-wide design day demand, receipt capacity and storage withdrawal capacity; the Aliso Canyon, Honor Rancho, La Goleta and Playa del Rey storage fields and the Quigley Regulator Station, whose counties the record read does not state; the Energia Costa Azul terminal in Baja California, Mexico
Unclear Where Southwest Gas Corporation serves in the metro counties; the county of each pipeline segment and storage facility named in the record; the town-level split of SoCalGas's demand among the counties

The Southern California gas record by whether it falls inside the three metros (OMB delineation). Source: 2026 California Gas Report, SoCalGas winter and summer assessments, CPUC Energy Division Biennial Assessment.135

Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim

Los Angeles and Orange counties are served by SoCalGas. SoCalGas said its wholesale utility customers are SDG&E, Southwest Gas, the City of Long Beach Utilities Department and the City of Vernon, and the City of Long Beach Utilities Department said it serves approximately 150,000 customers in Long Beach, Signal Hill and parts of surrounding communities, receiving intrastate transmission service from SoCalGas.5 The one local capacity statement in the record is the CPUC Energy Division staff's: until the constraint at the Quigley Regulator Station is alleviated, flows from Aliso Canyon are necessary to support demand variability in the Los Angeles basin, downstream of Quigley.3 Staff's passage does not give a county for the station, and the record gives no demand figure for the metro, so the page's system-wide figures apply. EIA's September 2026 inventory lists no planned natural gas-fired generator in Los Angeles or Orange County, and no Federal Energy Regulatory Commission notice since January 1, 2025 names either county with a CP docket.7

Riverside-San Bernardino-Ontario

Riverside and San Bernardino counties are served by SoCalGas; the 2026 report gives no demand or customer count for the two counties.5 Southwest Gas Corporation, a wholesale customer of SoCalGas whose core demand sits in the report's other core line, is also a gas provider, but the report gives no county for its California service, so its territory in this metro is not established.5 EIA's September 2026 inventory lists three planned natural gas-fired generators in the two counties, each 0.3 MW in San Bernardino County with a planned year of 2030, and no Federal Energy Regulatory Commission notice since January 1, 2025 names either county with a CP docket.7 Nothing else in the record read is local to this metro, so the page's system-wide figures apply.

San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad

San Diego County is served by SDG&E, whose core 1-in-35 extreme peak day demand for 2026 is 309 MMcf/d of the 3,171 MMcf/d in the 2026 California Gas Report's core table (calculated from the report's figures: 309 divided by 3,171, a share of core peak demand and not of customers), and whose 1-in-10 cold day total for 2026 is 517 MMcf/d.5 CPUC Energy Division staff said SDG&E has a relatively low amount of linepack and does not allow much load variability without relying on the rest of the Southern Zone, which does not have direct access to underground storage, and that customers have a tendency to deliver less gas to the Southern Zone than they use in that region, which leads to periodic local shortages.3 EIA's September 2026 inventory lists no planned natural gas-fired generator in San Diego County, and no Federal Energy Regulatory Commission notice since January 1, 2025 names it with a CP docket.7

Has Southern California had gas supply problems since 2020?

The record read documents capacity restrictions in 2025 and none earlier; supply events from 2020 to 2024 are not established here (see Notes). SoCalGas said in November 2025 that in late October 2025 repair conditions were discovered on Transmission Lines 225 and 4000 that severely restrict the capacity of the Wheeler Ridge and Northern Zones, and that delays in remediation beyond the posted end dates potentially impact its ability to serve demand under the 1-in-10 year cold day standard.1 In January 2026 testimony SoCalGas said those simultaneous outages limited the Wheeler Ridge Zone to local demand of about 185 MMcf/d and Honor Rancho and La Goleta withdrawal to about 535 MMcf/d.4

CPUC Energy Division staff said SoCalGas announced in April 2025 that it would reduce the pressure on Lines 4000 and 4002 from July 1, 2025 through November 1, 2026, a 655 MMcf/d reduction in Northern Zone pipeline capacity, and announced in September 2025 that the reduction would end at midnight on September 5, 2025.3 SoCalGas also said that as recently as October 2025 El Paso Natural Gas, an upstream pipeline, posted a month-long delivery capacity impact at SoCal Ehrenberg, attributed to maintenance.1 The California Energy Commission (CEC) staff's November 2025 presentation listed, as its conclusion for SoCalGas, that it can meet demands without curtailment.6

How much spare gas capacity does Southern California have on the coldest day?

Major natural gas pipelines serving Southern California N SoCalGas transmission system SoCalGas transmission system El Paso Natural Gas El Paso Natural Gas Kern River Kern River Other transmission pipelines in the EIA layer (interstate and intrastate; unlabeled) Pipeline named in a verified claim on this page (labeled, one color each) Metro counties (boundary used on this page) Major highways (for orientation)
Figure 1. Major natural gas pipelines serving Southern California. Simplified, not to scale. Discovery Energy illustration from EIA and U.S. Census data. Coastline, lakes and highways: Natural Earth (public domain).

SoCalGas said the CPUC mandates two winter design standards: a 1-in-35 year peak day in which all noncore customers are assumed fully curtailed, with a forecast demand of 3.06 BCFD (3,060 MMcf/d) of core demand, and a 1-in-10 year cold day standard in which service is provided to both core and noncore customers, with a forecast demand of 4.56 BCFD for winter 2025-26.1 SoCalGas's Table 3 breaks the 1-in-10 demand of 4,563 MMcf/d into core including wholesale core 2,901, noncore non-electric generation 741 and noncore electric generation 921.1

Three documents state the peak day balance, with different figures because they use different assumptions and dates. The table gives each figure as its source states it.

Source and date 1-in-10 demand Flowing pipeline supply Storage withdrawal figure What the source states
SoCalGas winter assessment, November 6, 2025 4,563 2,922 (80% utilization of 3,635) 2,271 at the November 1 inventory; 1,401 at the end-of-January minimum for core reliability Expects sufficient capacity for both design standards
CPUC Energy Division Biennial Assessment, October 1, 2025 4,562 3,215 ratable supplies (staff model) 896 non-Aliso withdrawal capacity on February 15, 2026 (staff model) A withdrawal of 550 from Aliso Canyon is needed; staff recommend a smaller inventory limit
SoCalGas testimony, January 15, 2026 4,562 2,416 (SoCalGas assumptions) 1,974 January minimum available withdrawal at 68.6 Bcf at Aliso Canyon Supply shortfall of 172 at 68.6 Bcf, 333 at 58.6 Bcf; surplus of 112 at 86.2 Bcf

Peak day demand, supply and storage withdrawal figures for winter 2025-26, MMcf/d, whole SoCalGas and SDG&E system, each as stated by its source on its own date. The three sets use different pipeline outage and utilization assumptions and are not additive.134

SoCalGas's November 2025 assessment says its monthly mass balance shows sufficient pipeline receipt capacity and storage inventory to serve all noncore demand without curtailment, and that the mass balance does not account for actual injection and withdrawal capabilities.1 In its testimony two months later SoCalGas said the Energy Division's assessment significantly understates the need for Aliso Canyon, and that with receipt point utilization at the level it assumes, the 1-in-10 day with Aliso Canyon at 68.6 Bcf would need receipt point utilization of approximately 91% on that day, which it said may be achievable if customers respond to an operational flow order, and approximately 97% at 58.6 Bcf, which it called operationally unrealistic.4 The CPUC Energy Division staff said its threshold of 4,121 MMcf/d is the daily demand the system can serve without Aliso Canyon, and that the 1-in-10 peak day forecasts it takes from the 2024 California Gas Report are 4,489 MMcf/d for 2026-27, 4,435 for 2027-28 and 4,377 for 2028-29, each above the threshold.3 These are a staff analysis and a utility's position in a proceeding; neither is a Commission finding.

Calculated from SoCalGas's November 2025 figures (illustrative, not a finding; formula: flowing supply plus storage withdrawal capacity minus 1-in-10 demand): 2,922 plus 2,271 minus 4,563 is 630 MMcf/d, or 13.8% of the 1-in-10 demand. With the end-of-January minimum-inventory withdrawal of 1,401 MMcf/d in place of 2,271, the same sum is a shortfall of 240 MMcf/d; that is SoCalGas's minimum-inventory condition, not a forecast, and SoCalGas's mass balance shows inventory well above it. SoCalGas said its system capacity is often less than the sum of its pipeline and storage supplies, so neither figure is a capacity finding.18

Dates of the capacity figures: the 3,775 MMcf/d firm receipt capacity is stated in SoCalGas documents dated November 2025 and April 2026, and the zone figures in Figure 20 of the 2026 California Gas Report (Northern 1,590, Wheeler Ridge 765, Southern 1,210, Coastal 150 and Line 85 60 MMcf/d) are dated October 2021 on the figure; the two agree in total.125 SoCalGas's April 2026 summer assessment assumes 2.63 BCFD of storage withdrawal capacity for the 2026 summer peak and says it has capacity to serve the forecast summer peak day of 3.169 BCFD.2 The 2026 California Gas Report's own 1-in-10 cold day demand for 2026 is 4,758 MMcf/d across core, noncore and electric generation, 195 MMcf/d (4.3%) above the 4,563 in SoCalGas's winter assessment, which used the 2024 report (calculated from the two reports' figures).58

What is driving new natural gas demand?

The capacity documents read forecast demand from customer and weather data and name no large new gas load inside the five metro counties. A search of other official records found no further documented gas load: EIA's September 2026 generator inventory lists no planned natural gas-fired generator in Los Angeles, Orange or San Diego County and three 0.3 MW units in San Bernardino County, and a search of Federal Register notices of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission since January 1, 2025 found no pipeline notice naming any of the five counties.7

System context: SoCalGas said in April 2026 that the U.S. Department of Energy announced on March 20, 2026 an additional 6 months for the Energia Costa Azul LNG project in Mexico to finish construction, and that the facility is approved to export up to 425 MMcf/d; CPUC Energy Division staff said the facility was expected to increase competition for interstate pipeline capacity to Southern California.23 The terminal is outside the metros and outside the United States, and the record read gives no filing-confirmed start date, so it is reported here and not counted as a new load in the metros. The shares calculated from SoCalGas's figures (425 divided by 3,775 MMcf/d of firm receipt capacity, and 425 divided by 4,563 MMcf/d of 1-in-10 demand) are 11.3% and 9.3% (illustrative).8

Are upgrades arriving in time?

CPUC Energy Division staff said SoCalGas plans to increase the flow capacity at the Quigley Regulator Station prior to 2027, to drill additional wells at Honor Rancho by 2030, and that the Honor Rancho Compressor Station Modernization Project, updated in its most recent general rate case, is expected to be fully commissioned in 2027.3 The passages give no budget for the Quigley upgrade or the wells, so under the Outlook Scale they are plans and not scheduled fixes, and staff said the planned upgrades reduce the need for Aliso Canyon only from winter 2030-31.3

On the inventory limit, the Energy Division staff recommended reducing the Aliso Canyon maximum inventory by 10 Bcf to 58.6 Bcf, and added that given higher gas price forecasts for winter 2026-27 a smaller reduction or none may be appropriate; the adopted limit remains 68.6 Bcf.3 SoCalGas, in its application A.26-01-009, said the peak day can be met only if Aliso Canyon operates at 86.2 Bcf.4 The CPUC's decision on that application had not been issued in the records read.

Who gets gas first in a shortage?

SoCalGas said the CPUC's 1-in-35 year peak day standard assumes all noncore customers are fully curtailed, with service maintained to core customers, and that noncore customers are fully interruptible under its CPUC-approved tariff, Rule No. 23 for SoCalGas and Gas Rule No. 14 for SDG&E.12 The tariff rules themselves were not read in this edition, so the interruption sequence and any penalty terms are not established.

Winter and market context

Context only, as of October 2026. It does not set the outlook level and makes no prediction of outages. Its sources are listed separately under Market and weather sources and are refreshed on the publication date.

National layer: NOAA's Climate Prediction Center said on October 15, 2026 that its November 2026 to January 2027 precipitation outlook shows an elevated likelihood of above-normal seasonal precipitation amounts for much of California and the Southwest, a discussion of regions and not of counties.B1 The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) said on October 6, 2026 that it expects U.S. natural gas inventories to enter the winter heating season 2% above the previous five-year average.A1

Regional layer: California is in EIA's Pacific storage region, whose working gas EIA's weekly report put at 297 Bcf for the week ending October 16, 2026 (report released October 22, 2026); the table read does not state a comparison with the five-year average.A2 EIA's California citygate price series, the nearest regional series EIA publishes for the metros, shows 2.98 dollars per thousand cubic feet for July 2026 and no value for April 2026, as of its September 30, 2026 release; commodity prices are context and never evidence of a capacity constraint.A3 The most recent winter pipeline notice in the record is the one SoCalGas reported: El Paso Natural Gas posted a month-long delivery capacity impact at SoCal Ehrenberg in October 2025; postings by Kern River and SoCalGas's own bulletin board could not be read by script, so notices on those systems are not established here.1 These are national and regional facts, not statements about the utility's system, and none of them is used to set the outlook on this page.

Policy context

Context only, as of October 2026, from official sources; it does not set a level, a factor or a trigger. Its source is listed separately under Policy sources.

The CPUC's page for its Long-Term Gas Planning Rulemaking (R.24-09-012) says the Commission is looking at how to facilitate gas decarbonization while supporting equity, safety, affordability, and reliability, and says gas demand is declining as the state pursues greenhouse gas goals. The page lists, as its most recent selected document, a ruling dated August 30, 2026 inviting comment on a staff proposal and an avoided costs template; the rulemaking is open.

What is the outlook for Southern California gas capacity through 2029?

Discovery Energy rates the outlook for Southern California natural gas capacity through 2029 as Elevated (confidence: Medium): SoCalGas's own January 2026 testimony projects a 1-in-10 cold day supply shortfall at the authorized Aliso Canyon inventory under its assumptions, CPUC staff say the day needs Aliso Canyon withdrawals, and no approved or scheduled fix is shown, though SoCalGas's November 2025 assessment expects sufficient capacity and every figure is for the combined SoCalGas and SDG&E system. Documented risk factors: one, a recent event (the October 2025 repair conditions on Lines 225 and 4000), which does not raise the level on its own. Three developments would change the assessment: the CPUC's decision on SoCalGas's Aliso Canyon application, which sets the inventory limit; SoCalGas's winter 2026-27 technical assessment and the CPUC's 2027 Biennial Assessment, with updated shortfall or surplus figures; completion of the Quigley Regulator Station upgrade, the Honor Rancho wells and compressor project, and the repairs on Lines 225 and 4000.

Outlook levels, from least to most concern: Stable, Watch, Elevated, High, Severe. Levels describe the public record of capacity and supply risk; confidence is reported separately. They are qualitative assessments, not forecasts of outages.

What should Southern California-area facilities check now?

  • Tariffs and charges, through a utility audit. Confirm each account is on the right rate class and tariff, and that riders, demand charges and capacity-related charges are billed correctly. Over 70% of the clients Discovery Energy has audited were billed incorrectly. An audit verifies tariffs and charges and recovers overcharges before winter costs rise.
  • Which service. Confirm whether each site takes core or noncore service from SoCalGas or SDG&E, and read the interruption terms in the current approved tariff.
  • Backup plans and fuel. Check that alternate-fuel and curtailment plans are current and feasible, and that fuel inventories and resupply arrangements are in place before December.
  • Upcoming proceedings. Track the CPUC's decision on SoCalGas's Aliso Canyon application and SoCalGas's winter 2026-27 technical assessment.

Frequently asked questions

Will Southern California businesses face natural gas shortages this winter?

The record does not show a shortage. SoCalGas said in November 2025 that it expects to meet both design standards, while in January 2026 testimony it projected a 1-in-10 cold day supply shortfall of 172 MMcf/d at the authorized Aliso Canyon inventory under its own assumptions. These are statements for the combined SoCalGas and SDG&E system, and this page makes no prediction about outages.

Does SoCalGas have spare gas capacity on the coldest day?

SoCalGas forecasts a 1-in-10 cold day demand of 4,563 MMcf/d against 2,922 MMcf/d of flowing supply and 2,271 MMcf/d of storage withdrawal capacity at the November 1 inventory, and expects to meet it. CPUC staff say the day needs 550 MMcf/d from Aliso Canyon. The figures are system-wide and dated November 2025 and October 2025.

Why does Aliso Canyon matter to Los Angeles, Riverside-San Bernardino and San Diego?

One combined record covers all three metros. CPUC staff said flows from Aliso Canyon support demand variability in the Los Angeles basin, and SoCalGas said that reducing the inventory limit would increase reliance on near-perfect pipeline performance. The CPUC has not decided SoCalGas's application on the limit in the records read.

Is there newer receipt capacity data than the California Gas Report's Figure 20?

Yes. SoCalGas stated in November 2025 and April 2026 that it can receive up to 3,775 MMcf/d of flowing supply on a firm basis; Figure 20 in the 2026 report is dated October 2021 and sums to the same total.

Is a data center or power plant driving gas demand in these metros?

The record does not show one. EIA's September 2026 inventory lists no planned gas-fired generator in Los Angeles, Orange or San Diego County, only three 0.3 MW units in San Bernardino County, and no Federal Energy Regulatory Commission pipeline notice names the five counties. SoCalGas did say the Energia Costa Azul LNG terminal in Mexico is approved to export up to 425 MMcf/d.

Related case studies

Discovery Energy publishes gas capacity case studies for other metros, using the same method and outlook scale.

All gas capacity ratings by U.S. metro

Understand your capacity exposure

Discovery Energy reviews service elections, interruption terms and regulatory proceedings for organizations across the U.S. and Canada, so capacity changes are understood before they reach the bill.

Schedule a review

Notes

  1. SoCalGas, Winter 2025-26 Technical Assessment, November 6, 2025, pages 1 to 6 (Tables 1 to 5). Utility statements. [SCA-19 to SCA-32] ↩
  2. SoCalGas, Summer 2026 Technical Assessment, April 16, 2026, pages 2 and 4. Utility statements. [SCA-33 to SCA-36, SCA-76] ↩
  3. CPUC Energy Division, 2025 Aliso Canyon Biennial Assessment Report, October 1, 2025 (D.24-12-076; Investigation I.17-02-002), pages 5 to 26. Staff analysis, a recommendation and not a Commission decision. [SCA-37 to SCA-55] ↩
  4. SoCalGas, prepared direct testimony of Andrew J. Sawin, Chapter I, January 15, 2026, Aliso Canyon application A.26-01-009, pages 2 and 21 to 23. Utility testimony, a party's position and not a finding; its assumptions differ from the Energy Division's. [SCA-56 to SCA-62] ↩
  5. 2026 California Gas Report (submitted July 1, 2026; updated August 3, 2026), SoCalGas copy: Tables 37, 38 and 52, Figure 20, the wholesale customer list and the Long Beach statement (earlier findings SCA-01 to SCA-18, saved with the first Southern California run). Utility statements. ↩
  6. California Energy Commission staff presentation, November 12, 2025 business meeting, slide 5. [SCA-63] ↩
  7. EIA-860M inventory for September 2026 (Planned sheet) filtered to the five counties by code, and a Federal Register search of Federal Energy Regulatory Commission notices since January 1, 2025 by county phrase, both computed by code. A notice that spells a place differently would be missed. [SCA-64 to SCA-69] ↩
  8. Calculations (code only, illustrative, with formulas and unrounded values in southern_california_calculations_3b.csv; none is a regulator finding). Also in that file and not used in the text: the Aliso Canyon withdrawal that staff's model needs is 12.1% of its 1-in-10 peak day demand, and SoCalGas's stated shortfalls of 172 and 333 MMcf/d are 3.8% and 7.3% of its 1-in-10 demand of 4,562 MMcf/d. ↩
  9. Not established, and left out of the page: supply events from 2020 to 2024 affecting SoCalGas or SDG&E in an official record (none read); delivery-point utilization from pipeline postings (the SoCalGas ENVOY and Kern River sites could not be read by script; next capture about March 2027); cost allocation among customer classes (SoCalGas's general rate case decision D.24-12-074 was cited by staff and not read); the tariff interruption sequence and penalties (Rule No. 23 and Gas Rule No. 14 not read); the CPUC's decision on application A.26-01-009; the county of each pipeline and storage facility; where Southwest Gas serves; a comparison of Pacific storage with its five-year average.
  10. R3 not established beyond the searches in Note 7, and left out of the claims: California air permit records, interconnection queue records and FERC eLibrary certificate filings, none of which a script could save; news reports are leads only and are not claimed. R10 and R11 were searched for official sources only: SCAQMD and building-code actions on gas appliances were not searched in this edition.

Market and weather sources

Public web sources saved and hashed on October 25 and 26, 2026. They are context, separate from the regulatory record cited in the Notes. The Climate Prediction Center issues its seasonal outlook once each month near mid-month; this section is refreshed on the publication date.

  1. A1. U.S. Energy Information Administration, press release, "EIA expects a mixed picture for winter fuel costs this year," October 6, 2026. Link ↩
  2. A2. U.S. Energy Information Administration, Weekly Working Gas in Underground Storage, release October 22, 2026 (Pacific region). Link ↩
  3. A3. U.S. Energy Information Administration, California Natural Gas Citygate Price, monthly, release September 30, 2026. Link ↩
  4. B1. NOAA Climate Prediction Center, Prognostic Discussion for Long-Lead Seasonal Outlooks, issued October 15, 2026. Link ↩

Policy sources

Official public sources saved and hashed on October 26, 2026. They are context only and separate from the regulatory record cited in the Notes.

  1. C1. The CPUC, Long-Term Gas Planning Rulemaking R.24-09-012 (web page). Link

Sources

  1. Southern California Gas Company, Winter 2025-26 Technical Assessment, November 6, 2025. Link
  2. Southern California Gas Company, Summer 2026 Technical Assessment, April 16, 2026. Link
  3. California Public Utilities Commission, Energy Division, 2025 Aliso Canyon Biennial Assessment Report, October 1, 2025. Link
  4. Southern California Gas Company, Prepared Direct Testimony of Andrew J. Sawin, Chapter I, Reliability Impacts, January 15, 2026. Link
  5. California gas utilities, 2026 California Gas Report (comprehensive edition), submitted July 1, 2026. Link
  6. California Energy Commission, Winter 2025-26 California Gas Reliability Assessment, staff presentation, November 12, 2025. Link
  7. Office of Management and Budget, OMB Bulletin No. 23-01, Revised Delineations of Metropolitan Statistical Areas, Micropolitan Statistical Areas, and Combined Statistical Areas, July 21, 2023.
  8. U.S. Energy Information Administration, EIA-860M Preliminary Monthly Electric Generator Inventory, September 2026. Link
  9. Federal Register, API search of Federal Energy Regulatory Commission notices by county. Link